CALIFORNIA PRIVACY PROTECTION AGENCY

TITLE 11. LAW DIVISION 6. CALIFORNIA PRIVACY PROTECTION AGENCY CHAPTER 3. DATA BROKER REGISTRATION

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

The California Privacy Protection Agency (Agency) is requesting that the Office of Administrative Law courtesy File & Print the attached regulatory amendment, which changes the annual registration fee from \$400 to \$6,600.

Senate Bill 362 (Chapter 709, Statutes of 2023) gives administration of the state's data broker registry to Agency beginning January 1, 2024. This File & Print submission updates the existing regulation that sets the annual registry fee contained in the Agency's section 7600 of Title 11 of the California Code of Regulations.

Senate Bill 364 adds to Civil Code section 1798.99.87(b), which states: "any regulation adopted by the California Privacy Protection Agency to establish fees authorized by this title shall be exempt from the Administrative Procedure Act (Chapter 3.5 (commencing with Section 11340) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code)." Accordingly, this regulatory amendment is properly made as a File & Print submission. The Agency requests expedited review and filing of this regulatory amendment to the Secretary of State by no later than December 31, 2024, to ensure all data brokers are subject to the \$6,600 registration fee for the registration period beginning on January 1, 2025.

Please note that section 7600, which is the subject of this request to File & Print, is also included in the Agency's Data Broker Registration rulemaking that was submitted to the Office of Administrative Law concurrently.